Ministry: Aajeevika – National Rural Livelihoods Mission (NRLM) was launched by the Ministry of Rural Development (MoRD) for DEENDAYAL ANTYODAYA YOJANA.

The Ministry of Rural Development, A Branch. The Government of India. Is entrusted. With. The task of accelerating the socio-economic development of rural India. Its focus is on health, education, piped drinking water, public housing, and roads in DEEN DAYAL ANTYODAYA YOJNA.

The initial scheme. Swarnajayanti Gram Swarozgar Yojana (SGSY). Was launched. In 1999. It was renamed. As National Rural Livelihood Mission in 2011. Finally. They were. Merged. Into DDU-AY.

Deendayal Upadhyaya (25 September 1916 – 11 February 1968) was an Indian politician, a proponent of Integral humanism ideology, and leader of the political party Bharatiya Jana Sangh (BJS), the forerunner of the the the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Launched: 2011 (November 2015, the program. Was. Renamed. DEEN DAYAL ANTYODAYA YOJNA (DAY-NRLM).)

NRLM Mission

  • To reduce poverty by enabling the poor households to access gainful self-employment and skilled wage employment opportunities, resulting in appreciable improvement in their livelihoods on a sustainable basis, through building strong grassroots institutions of the poor.



  • At least one woman member from each identified. Rural poor household. Is to be. Brought. Under The Self-Help Group (SHG) network in a time-bound manner.
  • Special emphasis is particularly on the vulnerable. Communities such as manual scavengers, and victims of humans. Trafficking, and Particularly Vulnerable. Tribal Groups (PVTGs), Persons. With Disabilities (PwDs), and bonded labor.
  • NRLM has devised special strategies to reach out to these communities and help them graduate from poverty.

Extra Points:

  • The scheme is an improved version of the earlier Swarnjayanti Gram Swarozgar Yojana (SGSY).
  • The Program. Partially by the World Bank.
  • The scheme started with an agenda to cover 7 Crore rural poor households via SHGs and federated institutions and support them for livelihoods collectives in 8-10 years.
  • In 2021, the Union Cabinet approved a special package worth Rs. 520 crore in the Union Territories (UTs) of Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) and Ladakh for a period of five years (till the financial year 2023-24) under the Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana-National Rural Livelihood Mission (DAY-NRLM).

Important Definition:

  • Poverty is the state of one who lacks a usual or socially acceptable amount of money or material possessions. When people lack. The means to satisfy their basic needs.
  • Poverty estimation in India is now carried out by NITI Aayog’s task force through the calculation of the poverty line based on the data captured by the National Sample Survey Office under the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation (MOSPI).
  • Absolute Poverty: A condition where household income is below a necessary level to maintain basic living standards (food, shelter, housing). This condition makes it possible to compare. Different countries and also over time.
  • Relative Poverty: It is. Defined from. A social perspective. That is the living standard compared. To the economic standards of the population living in its surroundings. Hence it is a measure of income inequality.

Criteria are different for rural and urban areas. In its Tenth Five-Year Plan, The Degree of deprivation. Is measured. With the help. Of parameters. With scores given from 0–4, with 13 parameters.

Families with 17 marks or less (formerly 15 marks or less) out of a maximum of 52 marks have been classified as BPL. The poverty line solely depends on the per capita income in India rather than the level of prices.


Read more: UPSC Current Affairs